Lenten Season

Ok, I fibbed… Not intentionally, but I wanted to post about Lent first (before I post about our birthing experience) since today is Ash Wednesday and the beginning of the Lenten season.

I don’t always give something up or take something up for Lent. My most memorable year was when I was in third year of university. I don’t remember ever observing Lent strictly before then, and at the time I was in a course called “Food and Religion.” We explored different religious rituals and observations of food, and we discussed some religions which observe abstaining from meat (or certain meats). I chose that year to give up meat for Lent, and I found it really enriched my learning during that course.

This year I’ve decided to give up technology for a certain portion of the day. I’ve chosen A.J.’s morning feeding as a time during the day to spend in prayer and reading. I’m not committing myself to just religious books, but will be reading The Love Dare since there are (conveniently) 40 chapters. And you can never work too hard at strengthening your marriage!

I used to read a lot , yet lately I find myself defaulting to Netflix… Breastfeeding causes me to sit in my recliner often throughout the day, and I spend much of this time watching movies/shows or on Facebook. I’m actually excited to spend at least one feeding a day in prayer, reading and away from technology.

This morning was my first morning practicing this discipline. I must admit, there were a couple of times I went to reach for my phone (out of habit….). I purposely didn’t bring my iPad into the room, and only brought my phone because I will still use it to keep track of the times I feed A.J. But this evening I have been cleaning out my bookshelf and have come across many books I wouldn’t mind (finally getting around to) reading.

Are you taking something up or giving something up this Lenten season?

Leave a Reply

