Allrecipes.com

Allrecipes.com is my go-to website for recipes! I absolutely love everything about it – how you can search for recipes based on ingredients, how you can have different “folders” to categorize the recipes you want to save, that it’s free, etc.! I’ve always really enjoyed baking and cooking, but it really grew to another level once I got married and moved out of my parent’s house into a house of our own. I had my own kitchen and my own cooking supplies, and everything was so new and exciting. And then the challenge presented itself – a combination of finding meals that my husband loves and is of a wide variety so it doesn’t feel like we’re eating the same thing over and over again…

Within two months of being married, I made the Chicken and Broccoli Braid for dinner and things have never been the same again! This is one of our favorite meals, and the hubby routinely asks “When are you making the broccoli braid again???” He loved it so much that for a period of time after making it for the first time, every time I tried a new recipe for dinner I would know when he didn’t like it very much because he would say, “It was ok… but not as good as that broccoli braid recipe!”

The great thing about this recipe is that it is very forgiving in the sense that it’s very easy to change the ingredients if a) you want to cook for less people or b) you want to change up some of the vegetables or seasonings. For example, I only use one tube of crescent rolls since I am usually only cooking this for 2. Technically we could have leftovers even with just one tube of crescent rolls… but we love it so much that we usually polish the whole thing off.

I absolutely love the dill in it as well as the almonds! I have never made it with red bell peppers or onions as the recipe calls for, but usually substitute other things like mushrooms or whatever else I have in the house that suits our cravings at the time. I have added herb and garlic cream cheese before which is excellent. And sometimes I will portion the crescent rolls to make individual “braids” – one for me and one for my husband – rather than making one big portion. I always cook it on parchment paper because I usually manage to over-cook crescent rolls to the point where they stick to the pan.

I encourage you to try the Chicken and Broccoli Braid recipe! Even if you don’t like broccoli, try to think of another vegetable to substitute.

I usually can't make it look like a "braid" but as long as the sides are covered the cheese mixture won't melt out.

Finished and ready to be devoured!

2 thoughts on “Allrecipes.com

Leave a Reply

