We’re adopting

My husband and I have made the decision to adopt a child! We are very excited to meet our future son/daughter even though we know the process could be a long one…

A couple of weeks ago we visited my parents in Myrtle Beach over Thanksgiving and shared our exciting news with them there. My parents took some amazing “We’re Adopting!” pictures for us so we could share the news with everyone else. Having these pictures and being able to share them is really important to me. We are thrilled to be adopting, yet as we were making the decision I felt like something was missing. I did some soul-searching and praying and realized that I was afraid of missing out on the “expectant mother” phase and all the excitement that comes along with this rite of passage. After I realized what was bothering me, I felt better knowing that I could be intentional in making this adoption experience my own “expectant mother” experience including being able to tell everyone that we’re adopting, having photos taken, etc.

The photos were taken by my parents (who are amazing photographers!) also known as Memories Through Lens Photography. I know they are very excited for a grandchild (and I can’t wait for that photo shoot!).

The tide coming closer...

And closer...

AND CLOSER! There goes our adoption message...

3 thoughts on “We’re adopting

  1. Rebecca van Arragon says:

    Jen I saw the pictures on FB but there were a few here that I just saw for the first time! They are really good!!

    You guys are in my thoughts and prayers as you go through this journey! I know that you will be great parents!!! πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to meet him/her!!

  2. The Lovely Laura says:

    Hello! Congratulations on this exciting decision!!!! The ‘expectant mother’ phase is going to be as exciting as you make it. I LOVE that you took the special photos (admittedly I’m jealous πŸ™‚ Embrace every second and allow yourself to grow through the crazy process. What your body doesn’t go through your heart does so be prepared but trust it!! I hope you share your journey!

Leave a Reply

