Psalm 113

This has been an exciting week! 2011 was full of challenges – all which were learning experiences, and yet they were difficult to get through. I am excited to see what 2012 has to offer! The second day of 2012 brought my new niece into the world. She is adorable, and I am so in love with her already. Yesterday I celebrated my BFF’s engagement and was asked to be her Matron of Honour!

Our adoption process is moving along nicely, and while I’m sure we will face challenges with this as well, I am hopeful that it will bring joy and happiness in the end. I am also fortunate to be sharing these experiences with my other BFF.

The Bible is full of stories of infertility struggles: Sarah, Rebekah, Rachel, Samson’s mother, Hannah, the Shunammite woman in 2 Kings 4, Elizabeth. They’re powerful stories of struggle and crying out to God. In all these cases, the women ended up getting pregnant and giving birth. These stories are full of hope but tend to end in pregnancy and biological children, so while they are stories of faith, they haven’t really spoken to me as we go through our adoption process.

What has spoken to me is a verse I stumbled upon: Psalm 113:4-9. The verses read through The Message is beautiful

God is higher than anything and anyone,
outshining everything you can see in the skies.
Who can compare with God, our God,
so majestically enthroned,
surveying his magnificent
heavens and earth?
He picks up the poor from out of the dirt,
rescues the wretched who’ve been thrown out with the trash,
seats them among the honored guests,
a place of honor among the brightest and best.
He gives childless couples a family,
gives them joy as the parents of children.
Hallelujah!

Verse 9 doesn’t speak overtly to infertility or biological children. Other versions (NIV, NLT, etc.) only mention “a childless woman,” but I love The Message version because it recognizes both the childless father and mother. I don’t go through our adoption process alone – Mark is just as affected by our struggle to have a child. While the verse is likely referring to the stories of those like Sarah, Rachel, Rebekah, etc. and pointing out God’s grace in providing children for them, I like to interpret the verse another way. When I read it, I see that God gives childless couples a family through various ways.

I really wanted this verse to be visible in our house so I am reminded of its words daily. I love the look of subway art, and wanted to create something for our bedroom. We bought a simple shelf from Ikea along with some picture frames. I also bought a sheet of scrapbook paper from Michaels to “matt” it in blue.

Using Photoshop Elements 6, I used a variety of fonts and colours (focusing on blues and browns) to type Psalms 113:4-9 and put more emphasis on “He gives childless couples a family, gives them joy as the parents of children. Hallelujah!”

Subway art is really in right now, and it’s an awesome way of being creative with words and sayings. If you don’t want to make your own subway art pieces, there are some really awesome free printables online. I used two other printables created by others to go beside my own.

“So In Love” can be found here on the blog Sprik Space.

“Prayer Changes Everything” can be found here on the blog A Step in the Journey.

Also check out my Pinterest board “Printables” for some links to other sites (some free, some not).

If the verse speaks to you as much as it does to me, feel free to download the art here (don’t print the version below as the quality will be lower).

PLEASE NOTE: the use of this art is for personal use only.

5 thoughts on “Psalm 113

  1. Jacqueline says:

    I like it!!!! However, when you first talked about ‘subway art’ – I thought you meant Subway’s logo… NOW I get it – but now I also want a sub…. xo Beautiful scripture to live by!

  2. Laura Beth says:

    I have NO IDEA how I missed your comment on Facebook, but I just saw the prints above your bed & they look AWESOME! I am so glad you were able to use the Prayer Changes Everything print…the colors of the three blend so well!

    • speakingforothers says:

      Thanks, Laura! I was just looking closely at the artwork again this afternoon thinking just how much I love them – both the look of them all together, and the importance of the words in my life.

Leave a Reply

