My growing girl

Dear A.J.

How does someone so young and so small have such a big personality (not to mention temper…)?! And how does one grow so quickly? I went away for work last week for 5 days, and I came back to a little girl who no longer looked like a zombie when she walked (you know, the arms in the air new walker). I came back to a girl who is trying harder to mimic even more words. I came back to a girl who has obvious interests and likes (evident by the way you smiled bigger at the new Bubble Guppies shirt I brought back than you did when you saw me for the first time in 5 days… Don’t worry, I don’t take it too personally that you still don’t say “mommy” but you say “baba” for Bubble Guppies on a regular basis… It’s not like they puked almost every day for 9 months, delivered you and cared for you since!).

I take so much joy in the cute little new things that you do. It took us a couple of days to figure out that you saying “puma” was actually “come on.” And as quickly as you pick up new cute little things, you stop doing other cute little things. Every day is so new that I often don’t even notice that you’ve stopped certain habits or behaviours. And then it occurs to me – you less frequently say “hi hi hi” to random people in the grocery store, you’ve stopped blowing raspberries, you no longer use the sign “more” for pretty much everything you want.

Everyone says time goes by so fast, and it totally does. Your daddy and I often scroll through old pictures on our phone and exclaim “look how small she was!” “Remember when she used to do this?”

How did you go from this…

March 6, 2014

March 6, 2014 (post nursing nap)

To this?

March 6, 2015 (Holding something Bubble Guppies, of course…)

I’m sure in 5, 10, 15, 20 years, I’ll look back and wonder the exact same thing…

One thought on “My growing girl

  1. Rebecca says:

    I really can’t believe you have a toddler! I can remember so clearly the call that you had just given birth! wow.

Leave a Reply

