My Independent Girl

Dear A.J.,

You’re a great sleeper! With the exception of some teething fussy sleeps (even then, when you wake up crying in the middle of the night, it only takes a quick cuddle to put you back to sleep again), you love your sleep. You napped twice a day until just after your first birthday. And even now (no jinxing it!) you have a good afternoon nap and sleep from about 7 PM – 7 AM. You’ve been sleeping through the night since you were about 3 months old, and this mommy (who also loves her sleep!) is so appreciative.

You are so incredibly independent! You aren’t the biggest cuddler in the world (though that’s been changing as you’ve started paying more attention to the tv – I can usually buy some extra snuggles by putting on Bubble Guppies or Doc McStuffins so you’ll sit with me…). And when you sleep, you need your space in your crib. You used to sleep on me when I would wear you when you were an infant. But after about 7 months or so, you regularly napped in your crib, and you stopped falling asleep on me so easily. Back in February when we went to see Nana and Grandpa in Florida, you fell asleep on me for the first time in such a long time (and the first time you fell asleep on my back), and I loved it.

back carry florida

Mommy’s eyes are a little red because this was a LONG day of travelling just you and me, and I may have cried after our flight was delayed yet again.

The last couple of nights, you’ve been pretty restless going to bed (I think you have some more teeth coming in…). And I have to admit, I’ve really cherished the extra cuddles.

Tonight you were having a rough time going to bed. The last couple of months I’ve had to depend on evenings to write and study for school, and I would often grow impatient if you were having a difficult night falling asleep. Tonight I cherished every moment. And you fell asleep on my chest for the first time in I can’t even remember how long. I stayed in the rocking chair for at least an hour just looking at your peaceful sleeping face and smelling your hair (a beautiful scent of the time we spent outdoors today and baby sweat). You fell asleep with my hand in yours (or yours in mine?). And you were breathing so softly.

I just don’t want to forget how your baby cuddles feel!

Leave a Reply

